Black Lawrence Press


Oh My Darling by Cate O’Toole
In Oh My Darling, Cate O’Toole invites us to take part in the highs and lows of the California gold rush. Each decision we make as Clementine, a miner’s daughter, brings us closer to love and fortune, or, just as easily, death and despair. With masterful, sometimes unflinching, prose, O’Toole paints the harsh realities of the untamed West where mere survival is a challenge. She asks us again and again what it is we really want, what it is we really need, and as we navigate Clementine’s many possible lives, we must decide what we’re really after: gold, love, or something closer to contentment.
—Rebecca King

The Missing Girl by Jacqueline Doyle
In these dark and edgy stories, Jacqueline Doyle has made a dispassionate study of the degradation of girls and the twisted hearts of those who harm them. Most chilling is the ease with which these characters fall prey to violence and how quickly depravity finds its way past the surface of ordinary situations. Prepare to be very disturbed.
—Elizabeth McKenzie

Trace by Simone Muench
Simone Muench traces the outline of loss in the shape of a wolf. Part howl, part flower, this brilliant and passionate new collection of poetry combines quotations with memory. Muench leaves traces of other writers’ lines on the forest floor for readers to follow, path to a fairy tale in which animals swallow human emotions and humans turn feral by starlight. Trace highlights Muench’s dazzling, delirious wordplay; her poems double as musical notation, sound detached from referent that exists purely for the pleasures of the tongue.
—Carol Guess