Black Lawrence Press

The Big Moose Prize

Each year Black Lawrence Press will award The Big Moose Prize for an unpublished novel. The prize is open to new, emerging, and established writers. The winner of this contest will receive book publication, a $1,000 cash award, and ten copies of the book. Prizes will be awarded on publication.

The Big Moose Prize is open to traditional novels as well as novels-in-stories, novels-in-poems, and other hybrid forms that contain within them the spirit of a novel.

Entry period: December 1 – January 31 

Early bird entry period: November 1 – November 30

Past winners:

2011: Tracy DeBrincat
2012: Jen Michalski
2013: Betsy Robinson
2014: Genanne Walsh
2015: Megan McNamer
2016: Robley Wilson
2017: Shena McAuliffe
2018: Colin Hamilton
2019: Ron Nyren

How To Submit

Black Lawrence Press accepts submissions and payment of the entry fee ($25) exclusively through our online submission manager, Submittable. We are not able to accept submissions via email or postal mail.

Beginning with the 2014-2015 Big Moose Prize, all entries will be read blind by our panel of editors. All manuscripts should include a title page (listing only the title of the work), and when appropriate, an acknowledgments page and table of contents. Manuscripts should be paginated and formatted in an easy-to-read font such as Garamond or Times New Roman. Manuscripts should be 90-1,000 pages in length, not including front and back matter (table of contents, title page, etc.). Identifying information for the author should not be included anywhere on the manuscript itself. You are welcome to include a brief bio or something about yourself in your cover note on Submittable, which will only be made accessible to the editorial panel after the group of Semi-Finalist and Finalist manuscripts has been chosen.

Need help with our submissions manager?

We look forward to reading your work!


Call for Entries

This contest is currently closed for submissions.

Entry Period: December 1 - January 31

2019 Winner

Ron Nyren

2019 Winner Ron Nyren
For The Book of Lost Light