Black Lawrence Press

The Hudson Prize

Each year Black Lawrence Press will award The Hudson Prize for an unpublished collection of poems or short stories. The prize is open to new, emerging, and established writers. The winner of this contest will receive book publication, a $1,000 cash award, and ten copies of the book. Prizes awarded on publication.

Entry period: February 1 – March 31

Early bird entry period: January 1 – January 31

Past winners:

2006: Jo Neace Krause (fiction)
2007: Daniel Chacón (fiction)
2008: Abayomi Animashaun (poetry)
2009: Patrick Michael Finn (fiction)
2010: Sarah Suzor (poetry)
2011: B. C. Edwards (fiction)
2012: Jacob M. Appel (fiction)
2013: Bettina Judd (poetry)
2014: Matthew Cheney (fiction)
2015: Gillian Cummings (poetry)
2016: Caroline Cabrera (poetry)
2017: Beth Mayer (fiction)
2018: Alan Chazaro (poetry)


How To Submit

Black Lawrence Press accepts submissions and payment of the entry fee ($25) exclusively through our online submission manager, Submittable. We are not able to accept submissions via email or postal mail.

Beginning with the 2014 Hudson Prize competition, all entries will be read blind by our panel of editors. Manuscripts should include a title page (listing only the title of the work), table of contents, and when appropriate, an acknowledgments page. Manuscripts should be paginated and formatted in an easy-to-read font such as Garamond or Times New Roman. Manuscripts should be 45-95 pages in length (poetry) or 120-280 pages in length (fiction), not including front and back matter (table of contents, title page, etc.). Identifying information for the author should not be included anywhere on the manuscript itself. You are welcome to include a brief bio or something about yourself in your cover note on Submittable, which will only be made accessible to the editorial panel after the group of Semi-Finalist and Finalist manuscripts has been chosen.

Manuscripts containing individual stories or poems that have been previously published online or in print are absolutely eligible–please simply note previously published work on an acknowledgments page. On the other hand, if your manuscript has been previously published as a collection (including publication with a press, self-publication, online/digital publication, and publication in a small, limited-edition print run), then the manuscript is not eligible.
Simultaneous submissions are acceptable and encouraged, but please notify us by withdrawing your manuscript on Submittable immediately if it is accepted for publication elsewhere.
Multiple submissions (the submission of more than one manuscript to the contest) are permitted.
Collaborative collections are welcome.
Hybrid/multi-genre submissions are also welcome; please enter under the submission category that best fits your work.

Need help with our submissions manager?

We look forward to reading your work!

Call for Entries

This contest is currently closed for submissions.

Entry Period: February 1 - March 31

2018 Winner

Alan Chazaro

2018 Winner Alan Chazaro

for Piñata Theory