Black Lawrence Press

The St. Lawrence Book Award

Each year Black Lawrence Press will award The St. Lawrence Book Award for an unpublished first collection of poems or short stories. The St. Lawrence Book Award is open to any writer who has not yet published a full-length collection of short stories or poems. The winner of this contest will receive book publication, a $1,000 cash award, and ten copies of the book. Prizes are awarded on publication.

Early Bird Period: June 1 – June 30

Regular Entry Period: July 1 – August 31

Past winners:

2004: Marcel Jolley
2005: Stefi Weisburd
2006: Jason Tandon
2007: Fred McGavran
2008: Yelizaveta P. Renfro
2009: Brad Ricca
2010: Katie Umans
2011: Adrian Van Young
2012: Craig Bernier
2013: KMA Sullivan
2014: Thomas Cotsonas
2015: Alexandra Lytton Regalado
2016: Vedran Husic
2017: Leigh Camacho Rourks
2018: Jody Chan


How To Submit

Black Lawrence Press accepts submissions and payment of the entry fee ($25) exclusively through our online submission manager, Submittable. We are not able to accept submissions via email or postal mail.

Beginning with the 2014 St. Lawrence Book Award competition, all entries will be read blind by our panel of editors. Manuscripts should include a title page (listing only the title of the work), table of contents, and when appropriate, an acknowledgments page. Manuscripts should be paginated and formatted in an easy-to-read font such as Garamond or Times New Roman. Manuscripts should be 45-95 pages in length (poetry) or 120-280 pages in length (fiction), not including front and back matter (table of contents, title page, etc.). Identifying information for the author should not be included anywhere on the manuscript itself. You are welcome to include a brief bio or something about yourself in your cover note on Submittable, which will only be made accessible to the editorial panel after the group of Semi-Finalist and Finalist manuscripts has been chosen.

Need help with our submissions manager?

We look forward to reading your work!

Call for Entries

This contest is currently closed for submissions.

Entry Period: July 1 - August 31

2018 Winner

Jody Chan

2018 Winner Jody Chan

For sick love